Royal  Aero Club Awards 

Each year the Royal Aero Club (RAeC) recognises members for their service and dedication to aviation in the UK. Awards are presented by senior aviation figures at the RAF Club in London in May.


The 2021 Awards Ceremony took place on 17 May 2022 and were presented by the Aviation Minister, Rt Hon Robert Courts. The following BMAA members were recognised:

Geoff Weighell (RAeC Diploma), for his outstanding contribution to microlighting over more than 40 years as a pioneering pilot, instructor, examiner, Chair of the Panel of Examiners, BMAA Chairman and then BMAA Chief Executive.

Rob Hughes (RAeC Silver Medal) for his volunteer work over 20 years, including organising the Flying Show many times, administration of international air sports events & competitions and his work for the BMAA as Chairman. (Picture 1)

Ted Barrett (RAeC Old & Bold Trophy) who gained a PPL in 1955, passed his microlight GST at 93 and is still flying at the young age of 100. (Picture 2)

Courtney & Malcolm Chambers (RAeC Certificate of Merit) for the creation of New Farm airstrip and their enthusiasm for promoting aviation. (Picture 3)

Mike Chilvers (Ann Welch Memorial Award) for competitive paramotor flying, organising the 2016 World Paramotor Championships and, more recently, converting to paramotor instruction and teaching others to fly. (Picture 4)


Nominations for RAeC awards are received in November and December each year. Please consider nominating someone worthy; the nomination form will appear on this website at that time.

To check the merits of each award please follow this link.